Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Adrian's Pololu Electronics

Posted by windcatcher 
Adrian's Pololu Electronics
November 07, 2011 03:08AM
Hello All,

I'm a RepRap builder in the Okanagan and I've just built my first RepRap using Adrian's Alternative Mendel electronics based on the Arduino Mega and the Pololu A4983 stepper controllers. I also went with Wade's geared extruder as It seemed to be the favorite when I started this project.

The mechanical parts are all done but I'm having trouble getting the software to work.

I downloaded the latest build from the repository, "20110509" and placed it in my downloads directory. I extracted all of the files into seperate folders and named each accordingly. I installed the RepRap Software and set the com port to 6 as it is in my device manager.

I am running a 32Bit version of Windows 7 and I have the Arduino drivers successfully installed. To check this, I compiled and ran the "Blink" example in the Arduino examples folder and the lights on the Arduino Mega board blinked so I am pretty sure the computer is talking to the Arduino Mega 2560 through the USB port.

Here's where things start to go wrong.
I am trying to use the Arduino software version 0022 to compile and upload the code to the board but it won't verify so I don't want to proceed until it does.

When I go to verify/compile the 5D_GCode_Interperter file I get an error saying "CPUTYPE" not declared in scope.
In the Arduino >Tools portion I have the" Arduino Mega 2560" selected and I used "//" to rem out the other options in the features file without success.

Does anyone have experience with Adrians electronics and know what I can do to get things working?
I have followed every thread I could find on Adrian's boards but there doesn't seem to be many step by step tutorials specifically for them.

I'm new to the whole C++ stuff so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.
Re: Adrian's Pololu Electronics
November 07, 2011 03:14AM