Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Meganewton

Posted by lucaestiva 
Meganewton
January 23, 2018 02:06AM
Hi all, and thanks for any help...
I'm studying the physics and structural stress of a cartesian 3d printer. So.... mass, friction... and motors... Selecting the right motors... I found in some stepper motors datasheets this two values:

Holding torque: 450mN.m
Detent torque: 37mN.m

Now mN.m means Meganewtons per meter and 1 Meganewtons = 1.000.000 of newtons.
www.casunmotor.com/nema-17-stepper-motor

If i follow the motors spec of this page:

[reprap.org]

i can clearly see that a "normal" holding torque of a stepper is:

42SHD0404-22 - 44N cm

44N cm = 44/100 = 0,44N m = 0,000 000 44

In Meganewtons / meter:
0,44N m / 1 000 000 = 0,000 000 44 Meganewons/meter

Can someone explain me what i wrong or what i have misunderstand ? Thanks... ( Google doesn't help too much in this case... )

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 01/23/2018 05:36AM by lucaestiva.
Re: Meganewton
January 23, 2018 02:35AM
You are studying physics and don't know the difference between "milli" and "Mega"? Are you kidding me?

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 01/23/2018 02:40AM by o_lampe.
January 23, 2018 02:56AM
Yikes, show me where you got those meganewton steppers, I want 'em.
VDX
January 23, 2018 03:15AM
... same with me -- can't await to get hands on a (totally illegal anyway) blue "laser-pointer" with 2500 MegaWatts(!!!) power, how they are selled in masses at Alibaba spinning smiley sticking its tongue out

Viktor
--------
Aufruf zum Projekt "Müll-freie Meere" - [reprap.org] -- Deutsche Facebook-Gruppe - [www.facebook.com]

Call for the project "garbage-free seas" - [reprap.org]
January 23, 2018 04:52AM
So you're telling me I could have ordered a sort-of-but-not-quite-lightsaber all this time?
January 23, 2018 05:42AM
A failed education system indeed !

[www.youtube.com]

"A comical prototype doesn't mean a dumb idea is possible" (Thunderf00t)
VDX
January 23, 2018 05:42AM