Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Controller / Stepper Driver Help Needed

Posted by doubleoerik 
Controller / Stepper Driver Help Needed
November 19, 2017 05:43PM
I need to post a write-up in the projects section but I'm in the midst of assembling my first scratch design/built printer. Mechanically it's coming together but I need to figure out what I'm going to do for the controller and/or stepper drivers. I'm a mechanical engineer by profession so the electrical side of things isn't my area of expertise and hence the procrastination...

Some details on the machine that folks likely need to provide feedback:
- I'd classify the design as a hybrid ultimaker/darwin style printer (X and Y can be moved independently and are fixed in Z).
- It's a reasonably large printer with a max print volume of roughly 420mm (W) x 440mm (D) x 550mm (H)
- The current print bed is a 400mm x 400mm aluminum plate with a 1200W 110-120VAC silicone heater that will be driven by a separate 40A solid state relay (that whatever controller I select will need to actuate)
- Steppers for motion in X, Y, and Z as well as the direct drive extruder are Wantai 2.4A(U) 0.9 degrees/step motors (P/N 42BYGHM810)
- Hotend is an E3D with a 24V 40W heating element and 24V fans. The current design has a single hotend but I designed the machine such that I can somewhat easily add a second hotend in the future (notionally to print water soluble support material)
- Power for everything except the heatbed will be provided by a 24V 15A PSU

I've done a lot of googling and I still can't pick a controller. I've been leaning toward the Smoothieboard v1.1 but given I'm using 2.4A steppers I don't think the onboard 2A stepper drivers will work. It looks like I could easily use external stepper drivers with the Smoothie but this is where I'm really, really, out of my element. Please correct any of the following that is incorrect but here's what I think I've learned/concluded: