Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

My BotMill experience

Posted by epatel 
My BotMill experience
March 16, 2011 05:23PM
On January 23rd I placed an order for a fully assembled Glider 3.0 and 5 lbs PLA. It was advertised to be shipped within 7-10 business days. Which did not happen. The advertisement actually read

BotMill's fully assembled, plug-and-play Desktop 3D printer. Ready for 3D printing: Take out of the box, plug in the power cord and USB and load a file to print. Many free extras included.

Shipping: This top quality item is produced individually for each incoming order. Shipping is usually within 7- 10 days. We do our best to minimize any delay.

For this I payed $1813 including shipping.

I am a software engineer and I have started a project to create a simplified software to print with these machines. I know how to write software but I need a machine to connect the software to. Even if I think I can put together a Mendel I rather let that be done by someone who knows it than do it myself. This was my main reason for ordering an assembled machine from BotMill. Due to the delayed shipping my project has also been delayed and now due to the incomplete machine I have to put the project on hold until I know how to proceed.

Here you can view a short test of my project [memention.com]

During this period I have closely followed the comments about BotMill in these forums without adding my opinions. Hoping that they actually cared about their customers and tried to delivery something close to what they describe.

Yesterday I received, lets say a part of my order. It was far from usable and it was missing important pieces very easy to see even for a reprap amateur. It did not contain the extruder or the extra PLA I ordered.