Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

A website tool estimates print time accurately based on speed/acceleration/jerk

Posted by Shen 
A website tool estimates print time accurately based on speed/acceleration/jerk
May 30, 2017 10:53AM
I've made a web tool (http://www.gcodeanalyser.com) to analyze gcode files, and report statistic about the file. The program estimates print time with max speed, acceleration and jerk taking into account, so it's quite accurate. It also reports many other information as well. I think this tool might help you find a balance between speed and quality. I'm very new to web development, so the code is not yet polished under the hood, but I will be optimizing the code and adding new features as a way to learn web development. Let me know what's the estimated print time vs actual print time for you. Also let me know if you'd like to see any other statistics being added.
screenshoot
Thank you for doing this - this will help me choose, as you said, most optimal value for jerk and acceleration. The website worked for me with a small file but 40MB file failed probably because it takes too long to upload.

PS.: have you considered implementing retraction option? I would think that retraction would have quite large effect on total print speed.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 05/30/2017 11:30AM by newbob.
The software process everything locally, it doesn't upload your gcode. Since code is not optimized yet, it might take a long time for larger files. Surprisingly I found Microsoft Edge to be significantly faster than Chrome, you can try different browser if one fails.
I already have Retraction Count and Total Retract/Prime Time, is that what you relate to?