Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

extruder hot end wiring for uno

Posted by karthesh001 
extruder hot end wiring for uno
March 29, 2017 06:52AM
hi.. i am new to 3d printing... and i am doing this for my final year project ..
I tried to built a 3d printer setup from old cd drives, and easydriver with arduino UNO.
i bought mk8 direct extruder , but i really dnt know where to connect the thermistor and heater.
when i configured with teacup the thermistor pin was set to AIO3 and heater was AIO2.
after lot of search , i assumed that thermistor wire should connect directly with uno pin AIO3 and grnd, and not sure about heater )
please help me to wire the hotend and heater to the UNO.
thanks in advance
Attachments:
open | download - Configtool5.jpg (156.2 KB)
Re: extruder hot end wiring for uno
March 29, 2017 08:03AM
Digital IO pins are (more or less, some tolerances) only for 0 or 5v in or output
Analog IO pins are only for 0 to 5v in or output.

For the hotend you need a mosfet to turn the 12v on and off

The thermistor is just a resistor that changes value when heated. You do use an analog in pin, But you don't tend to read it directly... see [learn.adafruit.com]

Also take a look at the ramps circuit diagram for how its done using standard reprap parts

[reprap.org]

Take a look at the thermistors section, how they use a second resistor and a capacitor. The plug is where you wire in a thermistor. thermo0 (1 and 2) are the analog lines into the controller.

Now take a look at heaters and fans. On a ramp D10 is the hotend. The plug on the right is where you plug in the hotend.
Note how the pin p$5 is always 12v, this type of mosfet actually controls the -ve line.
The led and 1.8k resistor are optional.. its just so you can see when its on or not

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 03/29/2017 08:07AM by Dust.
June 19, 2017 12:07PM