Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Need help making many larger pieces on many printers

Posted by 3DSatyr 
Need help making many larger pieces on many printers
March 22, 2017 10:55AM
I'm brand new to 3D Printing and wanted to make many larger sized pieces, up to 12" long 1/2" pipe to replace PVC, for a growing system I invented, which will need about 60-70 pieces like this per system. I have a friend with a 3D printer who directed me here for advice on the most cost effective way to do this by getting replicating printer so that I can make many of these printers on my own. I was hoping for a way to replicate at least 10 of these printers for around 150$, or possibly buy one permade if it's that cheap as well. I've seen the ANET A8, which costs around $160, which might work if it can print a 12" pipe vertically. If not, I would need around a 9" x 9" plate to horizontally print a foot long pipe. Any help is greatly appreciated, as I have little knowledge in this area; thank you in advance.
Re: Need help making many larger pieces on many printers
March 22, 2017 11:12AM
You are 3D printing pipe? I think you'll find buying pipe is always cheaper....

But, if you are determined to go down this route $150 will not make a great printer... It will make a printer that is inefficient, inaccurate and generally a pain in the arse. Many people will tell you they made it work, but they spent alot of time and $$ to turn that machine into something that works. if you are building 10 machines, this is really something you dont want. Expect to multiply that price by a factor of 3, 4 or even 5 and you have the price for a decent-ish machine that will do what you expect it too.
March 22, 2017 11:28AM