Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Engineering type question

Posted by n9jcv 
Engineering type question
March 13, 2017 12:02AM
I am not an engineer and have no metal working experience, thus the questions.

If I were to have metal parts made by a CNC shop, at the cheapest rate, what tolerance could I expect. For example, if my file calls for a 5mm hole, what would be acceptable 4.8 -5.2mm?? Again, I have no idea of what is typical.

If designing a hole, that is supposed to have a rod go thru it, but be held tightly, like a 8mm rod and a hole, If I call for my hole to be 8.1mm is that enough of a gap to fit or do I need more clearance. Mind you I want it to fit tightly, but not so tight that I can not get the rod in the hole without a sledge hammer lol

If I have a 5mm screw, that I want to thread the hole for, should I spec the hole at 4.5mm and then tap it or spec it smaller or larger?

Thanks for any advice!!
Re: Engineering type question
March 13, 2017 02:53AM
For smaller hole they gonna use a drill bit anyway so it will be the precision of the drill bit( unless you require a really high tolerance), I dont think it will be so off as what you think, not 4.8 or 5.2 it will be 5 something if you need tolerance at only part you name the tolerance requirement in your blueprint, a normal if its not so important say 0.003- 0.005 inch will cost WAY less than 0.001 but if you need a 0.001" somewhere specified the location.