Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Plotting instructions on the wiki

Posted by oangelo 
Plotting instructions on the wiki
March 17, 2016 08:59PM
I am very new in this 3D printer world. I have just made one Prusa i3 Rework. Then I was trying to plot things, I would like to print pcbs. The first place I got was at the wiki page for plotting (http://reprap.org/wiki/Plotting). I had a very hard time trying to follow the instructions there, I think the instructions are outdated, and most the softwares advised over there are abandoned. Now I am able to plot with my printer, after spending many hours, using modern tools. Using [svg2stl.com], slic3r, repetier. I think the page [reprap.org] should be actualized, but I don't know from where to start. How should I proceed, with whom should I talk?
Re: Plotting instructions on the wiki
March 17, 2016 10:10PM
March 17, 2016 10:50PM
I saw the PCB_Milling page. But it was not of much help either. The problem is that the gcode generated by most of the proposed softwares there are for real CNC machines, and not for Repraps. I didn't want to change my firmware to use CNC programs, and actually there is no need of it. I think, since there are better options, those pages should be actualized.
March 17, 2016 11:32PM
Hi oangelo,

It would be great if you were to update those pages on the wiki.

If you would like to get a wiki account so you can edit the wiki, please see the instructions here: Help getting new Wiki accounts
VDX
March 18, 2016 04:28AM
... have you seen this thread? - [forums.reprap.org]

Actally I'm developing another application for paste-dispensing based on Pronterface to read Gerber- or HPGL-files, generating "RepRap-style" G-codes from this files and printing them with a piezo-driven inkjet-pastedispenser. The modified Pronterface ist still Open-Source, but the importer/converter-plugins are not.