Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Guidance on installing heated bed

Posted by SummersideGuy 
Guidance on installing heated bed
February 02, 2016 08:26AM
Hello, any advice/help would be appreciated as I am a relative novice to 3d printers.

I purchased a generic Kossel mini from Aliexpress after assembly and some problems solving I have it up and running and printing fairly well. However it came with a free heated bed to match the glass build area. One problem though, the bed came with nothing included to hook it up as well as the power supply for the unit not being able to handle it.

I know I can use a PC PSU and I have a spare one lying around with a few 6+2 PCI-e connectors on them. This as much knowledge as I have on the matter however. I believe I need a thermistor but not sure what type, also the heated bed will need to be wired up but I am not sure exactly how to proceed fro here. I do not know where to wire the thermistor or the heated bed to the ramps board, also where do I wire the PSU power to on the ramps board, if I use the PSU do I use it for everything on the tower or do I still use the power supply that came with the tower as well.

Also My kossel mini came with an extra endstop switch, Is it possible to set this up to use for autoleveling??

Thanks in advance for any advice given.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 02/02/2016 11:03AM by SummersideGuy.
Re: Guidance on installing heated bed
February 02, 2016 01:20PM
To begin, yes you can use a endstop for leveling but you will need a servo to deploy it.

For the heated bed you will need a compatible controller and power supply. After making sure your powersupply can supply 12v at 20a you will need to modify it to pow?er the controller. Connect the green wire to ground and expose a 12v and ground for the controller.