Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Using ramps with bigger stepper drivers?

Posted by Nathanael Jones 
Using ramps with bigger stepper drivers?
May 09, 2015 07:54AM
Hi guys - please excuse my newbie questions,.. I've been doing loads of research & I'm still confused, so I reckon asking the experts to point me in the right direction might be a good idea!

I'm relatively new to 3D printing - but I've a working Prusa i3 that is producing some very nice prints & I'm really happy with,.. and now I want to build bigger, so I'm trying my hand at building a DIY CNC machine to compliment my printer.

I thought CNC machines would be simple - no hotend, no heated bed, slower motion & simpler toolpaths,... but when I started looking it was like stepping bac in time 15 years! Everyone seems to use Mach3 and a dedicated PC to run the machine, which seems overkill when more complex 3d printers will happily run from an SD card on a ramps controller using designss created in free software!

So - I want a ramps style controller to run my CNC mill - SD card support, LCD screen & controls - simple, compact & affordable.

But here's my issue: The standard ramps stepper drivers max out at 2.5A even with additional cooling - and the Nema 23 motors I reckon I'm going to need require 3A - So I'm looking for larger stepper drivers that are compatible with ramps & wiring diagrams to make them work,.. can anyone point me in the right direction?
Re: Using ramps with bigger stepper drivers?
May 09, 2015 08:25AM
Alternatively - what are the most powerful stepper motors I can drive from a standard ramps board?
May 09, 2015 09:23AM
I'm using two of these: [www.sainsmart.com] in my printer, with 32V power supplies. These drivers can handle up to 50V supplies.

The inputs are optoisolated, so you can safely connect to the RAMPS board without fear of destroying it. You need to pull the step, direction, and enable signals and a ground connection from the stepper module sockets.