Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Starting my Wilson TS build

Posted by Michaelj 
Starting my Wilson TS build
April 30, 2015 09:17PM
I just received my Wilson TS Stretch from Martin Rice.
I will be starting my build tomorrow evening.
It's my first build, so any advice is greatly appreciated.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 04/30/2015 09:18PM by Michaelj.
Re: Starting my Wilson TS build
May 01, 2015 12:59PM
I have a Prusa i3 Rework, not a Wilson TS, but I have some general advice smiling smiley Got my printer about a year ago and I have been upgrading and improving ever since.

- Take photos. This way you can understand how you built it later.
- Make sure that you have all of the parts before starting. If you don't have some, you will be disappointed when you have to stop the build.
- Ask questions (on these forums or somewhere else) if you get stuck. Don't do something drastic.... A 6-hour wait to get a question answered is better that a 4-day wait to get a new part shipped.
- And have fun! I loved building my printer just as much as I enjoy using it.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 05/01/2015 01:00PM by Blue Ice.

Blue Ice

blog at [contemporarymaker.com]
May 01, 2015 02:02PM
My advice is to watch all of Marty's videos on YouTube carefully and take your time while assembling your new printer. Remember, this is not a race!

If you find something is not clear don't hesitate to post in the "Prusa i3 and variants" forum below. The Wilson is a variant of the Prusa i3, in fact you could almost follow the instructions for a Prusa i3 to assemble the Wilson.
May 02, 2015 11:55AM
Good for you. I am new. Currently debating between Folger prusa and wilson ts would you mind tell me how much is the total cost for your printer? I don't see mjrice listing his printer on ebay, did you contact him to place your order? I am sorry if this is off topic
May 02, 2015 12:44PM
Thank you for the advice will be starting my build today.
May 02, 2015 07:48PM
dx3Prints