Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Perfect 3D / My School Project

Posted by Lxo 
Lxo
Perfect 3D / My School Project
April 13, 2015 03:16PM
I’m currently studying the third year of Swedish gymnasium (high school) and got an assignment to create a product or write an essay, as a person who loves to build stuff I choose the first alternative.

Since I got my first CAD program 6 years ago I’ve been hooked, I used it for everything, school as well as hobbies. Something about having a complete model in 3Dimensions has fascinated me. The problem came when you wanted to have something in your hands from the model on the computer. I knew about 3dprinters but I also knew you had to be really rich or a computer scientist to get your hands on one.

In the end of 2013 I built my own CNC to machine longboards (I was 17 at the time). It was a crude machine, all MDF and 3 Nema 34 motors powering all the axis. It works for what it is made to do but was more of a stepping stone.

The CNC got me thinking, why couldn’t I if so many other people already have, build a 3D printer. I had no prior experience with 3d printers except seeing a Ultimaker 2 in real life (once) and watching the most basic Youtube videos about them. So when I got the assignment from school I decided it was time to build one.

As I usual I skipped the whole process of gathering information of how to do it correctly and CAD’ed the whole printer with my limited experience. This is the result.