Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

300X300 Need help

Posted by jhondon 
300X300 Need help
April 12, 2015 02:18AM
Hi,

I'm planning to build a printer based on wilson. I would like to know how much I can scale the build volume without loosing mechanical rigidity and acceleration. I'm planning to use bowden system with dual extruder set up. on y axis i will be using heater pad with aluminium plate.

I have been reading the forums and found out that 8mm rods is not strong enogh for further scaling. But i have doubt the lulzbolt Taz is also using 8mm smooth rods right but they are getting a build volume almost equal to 300X300 why is it so?
Even if i can get volume of 250X250 I will be very happy. I'm new to machine designing and machine engineering, If you can provide me any guideways that will be very helpfull. All the helps will be appreciated and thanks in advance.
Re: 300X300 Need help
April 12, 2015 03:20AM
The TAZ 4/5 use 10mm rod but it would be nice if they used 12mm as there is a tiny amount of flex in the current setup. So, no, 8mm is not enough. Use 10mm minimum or 12mm if you have the budget.
April 12, 2015 03:36AM
Thank you for replying,

12 mm rod means i have to use more powerful motors on Z axis also right. with 8mm rods can i achive 250X250 without much flex problem??
April 12, 2015 07:39AM