Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

G30 A command?

Posted by Beng_ 
G30 A command?
April 02, 2015 08:38AM
I am new to 3d pprinting and I just used the G30 A command on my delta printer. It has been going for about an hour now and hasn't stopped probing. Is this normal?
Re: G30 A command?
April 02, 2015 11:10AM
Sounds like you need better firmware. I can do 7-factor auto delta calibration on my printer in 35 seconds.

Large delta printer [miscsolutions.wordpress.com], E3D tool changer, Robotdigg SCARA printer, Crane Quad and Ormerod

Disclosure: I design Duet electronics and work on RepRapFirmware, [duet3d.com].
April 02, 2015 11:30AM
I was assuming the G30 A command was associated with Rich Cattell's Marlin branch and still under development. You also want to make sure you are using the Testing branch rather than the Marlin-Main (?) branch.

I also believe the Marlin-Main branch defaults to 0.03mm accuracy, which you can change by using a G30 A0.05 command.

The time it takes to calibrate the machine is also somewhat determined by your manual calibration.
April 02, 2015 08:20PM
It finished after about 3 hours, but it completely stuffed up my machine. When it prints, the dimensions are off by a heap and the bed leveling is worse than before.
April 02, 2015 08:37PM
Have you checked all moving parts of the printer before auto calibration?

Based on my experience, auto calibration wouldn't fix mechanical problem.
In one occasion, one or two diagonal length were constantly changing which made incorrect calibration by manual.
Auto calibration failed after 100, the maximum iteration and stalled the RAMPS 1.4 controller showing "Calibration success" message in the end.
In other occasion one pulley of the stepper motors were loose it was moving side by side. I found it during auto calibration by hearing unfriendly noise.

After I fixed the mechanical problems, auto calibration finishes within 5 to 7 iteration.

Present

Previous auto calibration