Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Please help with Z axis quality issues

Posted by northernlights 
Please help with Z axis quality issues
January 22, 2015 05:32PM
Hi there. I’m new to 3D, and new to the forum. I was hoping someone would be kind enough to help me with a Z axis problem. I’ve attached a photo of my first 4 prints.
Print #1 The 20mm box circle test, turned out much better than I expected, but it was a little out of gauge. Temp 200
Print # 2 Was going good but I ended up aborting it.
Print # 3 The .5 mm thin wall test box showed a drastic change in Z quality. It started good, but after 7 or 8 layers the steps look like they’re getting bigger.
Print # 4 I thought maybe there was a problem with the file, so I reloaded the first print. Z quality trended the same as print 3…. Aborted
All settings and parameters were the same on the first 4 prints. The only thing that changed was the print file.
I have since tried a few more prints with different temp settings, 185 deg back up to 200. All prints have the same bad results.
Printer Prusa I3
Marlin step settings #define DEFAULT_AXIS_STEPS_PER_UNIT {80,80,4000,629.55}
I don’t understand what could have changed.

Thanks in advance for any help you may be able to offer.
Attachments:
open | download - z print quality.jpg (422.6 KB)
Re: Please help with Z axis quality issues
January 22, 2015 06:40PM
I ended up calling diytechshop from where I purchased my printer. They were very helpful. I had my layer thickness to high... .5mm. They advised to lower that value down to .3mm. Worked like a charm. I figured is was probably something simple....It usually is
Thank you DIY
But I still don't understand why the first print looked so good with .5mm and the others turned out the way they did. Any Ideas?
January 23, 2015 05:57AM