Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

first 3d printer

Posted by lilyput 
first 3d printer
December 13, 2014 01:53PM
hi
im interested in starting with 3d printing

which printer offers the most accurate print ?

which printer offers the smallest layer thickness ? can reprap get close to ultimaker 2 20 microns print ? [www.technologysupplies.co.uk]

im a mechanical engineer so hopefully building a kit should be fairly easy

any help or advice would be appreciated
Re: first 3d printer
December 13, 2014 04:27PM
If you are a mechanical engineer, don't buy a kit, design and build your own, you will find a lot of different options here on the forum, my advice would be do the research first, all the mistakes have been made by the guys building the repraps, all you need to know and want to know is here.
For a first printer go Cartesian, XYZ, they are easy to set up and get going, as far as accuracy goes, your wallet and the tool you have available will define this by the choice of mechanical components you wish to base your printer on, one word of advice use the prusa calculator to help you select your Z mechanics this is key as your layer height is tied to your steppers and the pitch of the drive mechanics.
Good luck.
Anonymous User
January 06, 2015 09:48PM