Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Selling permission

Posted by Tibuck 
Selling permission
November 18, 2014 12:57AM
Hello , I have a big question if anyone one can point me in the right direction. I’m new to the Reprap and presently looking in to building a prusa i3 kit and crunching the numbers I found it to be cheaper to source out in bulk, in other words building ten it cheaper then building one. My question is Can I sell the other nine, if so, from whom do I get permission.
Re: Selling permission
November 18, 2014 05:05AM
Check the WIKI
[reprap.org]
The i3 design comes under GPL
Cheers
Björn

[www.bonkers.de]
[merlin-hotend.de]
[www.hackerspace-ffm.de]
November 18, 2014 06:08AM
However, I've never seen a 'new' user build a solid printer in one try, so consider if it's really a good idea smiling smiley there is a good learning curve. Building just one can be a challenge, let alone building ten and making them work well enough so they can be sold.

http://www.marinusdebeer.nl/
November 18, 2014 08:13AM
No, you can't build ten cheaper than you can build one. You can build ten so that the individual cost is less than if you built one. But what is the opportunity cost by investing the capital in nine additional printers that you have to advertise, eventually find buyers, package, ship as compared to just paying slightly more for just one. You don't post your numbers but I'd be interested in what the cost savings is building ten vs building just one.

Regardless, feel free to resell completed printers or just the parts. There's even a For Sale forum here.
November 18, 2014 10:39AM