Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

my new prusa i3 make me hard times

Posted by shaip 
my new prusa i3 make me hard times
November 15, 2014 03:28PM
hi guys
I'm new in this world and just bought my prusa i3 before amount
i already success with some printing but still have unclear problems and questions:
1. my printer controlled by "melzi" and i read somewhere that the hot head fan should always work so,i need connect it directly to 12V and do not connect it to the "fan" connection on the board. can it be?
(currently i added micro switch to the fan and set it always on after the first layer)
2.I tried to print a part with some studs on it and the sticking between the stud and the base of the part is not good,and it very easy to break it ! (please see attached photo)
3.This part is a section of full circular part and when i try to print the full part (140 mm diameter) the connection between the infill layers is bad and definitely
not in the same quality like the connection between layers in the small section . what is the reason ? my thinking is that in small part the material is still hot when the printer add one more layers and than the sticking is better , and if that the reason so how can i print a big part and to keep verify good sticking between layers?
hope i am clear with my questions
i will appreciate your response
shai
Attachments:
open | download - 1.jpg (287.5 KB)
open | download - 2.jpg (360.4 KB)
Re: my new prusa i3 make me hard times
November 15, 2014 04:43PM
1.- That is correct, the fan to the hot end needs to be powered by the power supply and stay on all the time, the fan used to cool down the PLA while printing is the one you need to connect to the board.
2.- It looks like you are using 2 STL files combined? if so, need to lower the connecting Z distance.