Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Leveled Bed >> Auto-Leveling Probe

Posted by isonoob 
Leveled Bed >> Auto-Leveling Probe
November 10, 2014 01:36PM
Anyone else agree? Recent put together a PrintrBot Simple Maker Edition kit that didn't come with a bed leveling probe, then purchased the upgrade kit for it and put a bed leveling probe in. Few days later, ditched the probe. Nothing beats a leveled bed smiling smiley thoughts? Is this a universal opinion or am is the inverse popularly agreed upon? I see a bunch of printers coming out now with bed leveling probes, which I guess makes it easy for the end user, but I think a leveled bed is some secret sauce
Re: Leveled Bed >> Auto-Leveling Probe
November 10, 2014 02:17PM
Well, I disagree with you. I've been printing for the last two months with a probe and to be honest I didn't even leveled my built plate when I put it together just to see how the probe will do.

Now few things need to be said about them, first is a constant in the reprap community to get the cheapest possible thing and also to under power them, I didn't pick a cheap one, I do not under power it and I do not use inductive, I use capacitive with a 10mm distance detection range and I powered with 12 volts.

The only thing I did was to generate a table for additional offsets based on temperatures, I use simplify3d and save these offsets on my processes.
I haven't had any failures and every once in a while I check that there is no mayor differences.

After two month of printing I'm in love with my probe.
November 10, 2014 03:19PM
isonoob
Nothing beats a leveled bed smiling smiley thoughts?
Well, not spending a lifetime leveling, and re-leveling, and then leveling some more because you transported your printer somewhere and in the process knocked something out of alignment might beat it. Think taking a printer to a show. It'd be great if you could sit it down, plug it in, and start printing, rather than re-leveling the bed.