Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Is it extremely important for Reprap controllers to have higher step rates than 10kHz?

Posted by mung 
Is it extremely important for Reprap controllers to have higher step rates than 10kHz?
October 18, 2014 03:52PM
I am no expert in motion control or Reprap so not totally sure about this and no one seems to want to explain.

I was saying that a controller I designed was limited to 10kHz as that covered 90% of the possible use cases for stepper motors, but one of the site admin seemed to infer that 100kHz was needed ( [forums.reprap.org] ). Unfortunately I have not received any reply to my queries as to what Reprap requirements needed 100kHz step rates.

I thought maybe I misunderstood what was needed for a Reprap printer so I should ask the rest of the forum users if there was any help available showing what speed a motor needed to turn and what resolution and force would be required by motors.

Anyone have any knowledge about such things?
Re: Is it extremely important for Reprap controllers to have higher step rates than 10kHz?
October 18, 2014 07:03PM
mung
I am no expert in motion control or Reprap so not totally sure about this and no one seems to want to explain.

I was saying that a controller I designed was limited to 10kHz as that covered 90% of the possible use cases for stepper motors, but one of the site admin seemed to infer that 100kHz was needed ( [forums.reprap.org] ). Unfortunately I have not received any reply to my queries as to what Reprap requirements needed 100kHz step rates.

I thought maybe I misunderstood what was needed for a Reprap printer so I should ask the rest of the forum users if there was any help available showing what speed a motor needed to turn and what resolution and force would be required by motors.

i pointed out that we already have faster firmware,

assuming the use of gt2 pulleys and 16x microstepping the maximum x y axis speeds you'll get are: