Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Project- 3D Printed Prostheses

Posted by yoni.diamond 
Project- 3D Printed Prostheses
October 09, 2014 07:59PM
Hello all,

I am a graduate student currently enrolled in a clinical program for orthotics and prosthetics. I am currently pursuing a project which attempts to address the potential opportunities, obstacles, and shortfalls of 3D printing and how it relates to prosthetics, but specifically in the context of low-income countries. I was a Peace Corps volunteer for 2 years and it was during this time that I became not only interested in development work, but also with prosthetics. Anyhow, I believe that though 3D printing is still very much in its infancy, given time and funding, the opportunities for stronger and more functional prostheses will grow. I also understand that it is not so simple as handing someone in a developing country a 3D printer and expecting them to be able to sustainably print and assemble prostheses. It is my aim to capture the breadth of questions and issues which must be addressed on the overall project level, the technical level, and the clinical level and compile them into a manual, of sorts. That being said, there is very little empirical information out there about 3D printing applications outside of labs and even less regarding 3D printed prostheses. My hope is to get as much feedback from the 3D printing community, you guys, to help address issues which any prospective project might run into when trying to utilize this growing technology abroad. Below is a basic list of areas which I will be addressing. If you have any information/opinion on any of the areas your help and time would be greatly appreciated.

Overall Considerations/Preclusions
1. Access to Electricity
2. Motivation (production, research, training) (helping one or many) (include this in the intro)
3. Access to Computers and Internet
4. Technological Knowledge
5. Access to Patients
6. Supply Chain Access