Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

NEED HELP TROUBLESHOOTING !!!

Posted by khannon3 
NEED HELP TROUBLESHOOTING !!!
September 11, 2014 01:34PM
Hi Guys,

My name is Kevin. I am a Product Design student with a passion for 3D modeling/ 3D printing and this is my first post on this forum.

A few months ago I bought a Prusa i3 from 3Dprintczar.com. Assembly went fine and I eventually reached the stage of trying to connect to the printer with Pronterface. When I connected via USB, chose a COM port and connected to the board, I got a Error: MAX TEMP REACHED!!. I have tried checking every connection numerous times, I've replaced the RAMPS, stepper controllers, Arduino and the two thermistors. Unfortunately to no avail. I have become so frustrated and I would really appreciate any help.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance

Kev
Re: NEED HELP TROUBLESHOOTING !!!
September 11, 2014 02:50PM
Maxtemp can be triggered by a thermistor shorting out. This can happen on either the heater block or if the leads touch. Make sure that you are using PTFE tubing or heat shirk on the leads of the thermistor. Insure that at the head of the thermistor the leads aren't touching. As an aid to troubleshooting remove the thermistor from the heater block. Leave it attached to the RAMPS and make sure there are no shorts. If you remove it from the heater block and all is well that means you are shorting to the heater block or something in the installation is causing a short in the circuit.
September 12, 2014 07:32AM
Hi Vegasloki,

Thanks for your reply. I have been over the thermistor connections multiple times. I just fitted two brand new ones yesterday. I rechecked this morning to ensure that i could rule it out. I separated each connection from its molex/crimp and reconnected them. I have again, been give the same error I have had since the first time tried to connect to my printer.

Copied from Pronterface

Connecting...
start
Printer is now online.