Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Crazy Extruder Nozzle Idea

Posted by jupdyke 
Crazy Extruder Nozzle Idea
March 18, 2010 04:57AM
I just be crazy, but who knows. I was talking with a friend about the nozzle for the extruder and he was having trouble imagining how big 0.5mm was. He finally looked at me and said something along the lines of "oh like the 0.5mm lead pencils." Then he looked at me and asked why I couldn't just use the tip of a mechanical pencil, the kind that have the metal cone...

to which I said, I don't know. Why can't we. Those things are metal, and un-screw from the pencil. If the threading inside is a standard thread it might just be perfect.

I am planning on testing it out, just for fun. I will document it and post some pictures. But in the mean time, has anyone thought of this? How about tried it? Can anyone see some problems which I might be missing? I am still new to the extruding plastic game.

Josh
Re: Crazy Extruder Nozzle Idea
March 18, 2010 05:08AM
smiling bouncing smiley Cool idea - definitely worth a look see...

Bob Morrison
Wörth am Rhein, Germany
"Luke, use the source!"
BLOG - PHOTOS - Thingiverse
VDX
March 18, 2010 05:41AM
... you can find similar nozzles for applying "Window Colors" - i bought a bottle of black "contour-colour" and a metallic nozzle-set with: - a threaded tube for applying to the bottle-tip, a nozzle (similar to the pencil-tips) and a steelwire for cleaning the bore ...

The problem for FDM will be the heating - the long tip is hard to heat proper ...

For testing with paste-deispensing at room-temp ist's perfect grinning smiley

Viktor
--------
Aufruf zum Projekt "Müll-freie Meere" - [reprap.org] -- Deutsche Facebook-Gruppe - [www.facebook.com]

Call for the project "garbage-free seas" - [reprap.org]
March 18, 2010 12:03PM
Cool! Another alternative use for mechanical pencils.

What's a common model with a removable, all-metal tip? A lot of the pencils you can find are just plastic.