Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Best 3d printer board to date

Posted by RC-CnC 
Best 3d printer board to date
July 08, 2014 02:51PM
Hey folks

I'm seeking advice for the best 3d printer board as of date.
I'm kinda new to 3d printing and Arduino.

1) Reliable
2) Cost
3) Ease of use.

I've used an Azteeg X1 3DP and a VIKI LCD previously but have had issues ( can't get VIKI to display anything)
Re: Best 3d printer board to date
July 09, 2014 10:57AM
traditionally i would say ramps.
July 09, 2014 11:31AM
You really can't ask that in a general forum. Every answer you get will be a biased one since very few people have used all boards available. And even the negative feedback on certain boards is usually (not always) caused by bad components from the manufacturer and not a bad board design.

I personally have been using the Sanguinololu. It's pretty straight forward and has be quite reliable, so I haven't needed to try any other boards. You can also get the Melzi board which is a Sanguinololu with the stepper controllers and the micro SD slot built into the board.

While some of the newer boards haven't been widely used yet, most of peoples opinions come from cost (cheapest) vs. reliability. Depending on where you source your parts will effect price. RAMPS is widely used as cheapest, but also has the most posts here for help. Either because the instructions weren't clear enough for setup, or the firmware needs calibration.
July 09, 2014 12:11PM
I have used RAMPS, Rumba, and Rambo.

The RAMPS board is great and is by far the best value. I really like how the assembly is modular which allows for the replacement of individual components such as the stepper drivers and Arduino board. A common issue with this board is problems with the thermal fuses. The fuses are easy to switch out and I believe you can get a version that uses blade style fuses which don't have the issue.