Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

New Prosumer Printer

Posted by willysnowman 
New Prosumer Printer
June 12, 2014 12:58PM
Hi All,

I am a mechanical engineer looking to buy a new 3D printer. I am not sure this is the right place to ask these questions. I am not doing RepRap. I want something which will work out of the box and be up gradable.

My application is simple design validation b4 paying the big bucks to have something professionally printed, machined, or cast. I don't intend to make a business from 3D printing.

My time-frame is within 3 months of having a functional and tuned machine. I can put in about 40 hrs in this time.

Machine Specifications:
+/-.005 tolerance
decent industry standard finish
low cost materials (want to stay away from stratsys)
machinable material (the option to do clear and colored light pipes and soft gaskets would be nice but not a requirement)
8x8x8 print area
Open source electronics and software (I don't really need open hardware. I can easily re-engineer and build this.)
Price range up to $3k USD

I have a lot of existing machinery. My business is based on design and building 1 offs/1st prototype. I have designed and built a lot of machinery/mechanisms. I have outsourced a lot of 3D printed parts (mostly strasys). Mechanically, I will not need much support. I will need support on electronics and software. I am, however, not a newbie.

The printers I am now targeting are the Felix 3, Bukobot 8, and the Lulzbot TAZ. In that order. I am open to other suggestions. I do want something which will be running parts within 10-20 hours. Tweaking can take longer. I cannot wait 3 months for delivery of the machine.

I would be open to suggestions from experienced 3D printers.
Re: New Prosumer Printer
June 12, 2014 01:12PM
Ultimaker 2. All the way.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 06/12/2014 01:13PM by MrDoctorDIV.