Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Flexidrive is Flex3Drive Early Birds

Posted by Mutley3D 
Flexidrive is Flex3Drive Early Birds
May 17, 2014 09:41PM
Introducing Flex3DriveTM – The Flexible Driveshaft Extruder solution for 3D Printers.

Hello, My name is Jason Perkes CEO of Mutley3D. I am a Product Design Engineer and Innovator, proficient in mechatronic systems and CAD with a strong and long standing interest in 3d printing in particular Reprap 3D Printers over the last 2 years.
I have just completed development of Flex3DriveTM.

Flex3DriveTM is a complete end to end, flexible driveshaft based extruder system offering several key advantages over other systems, including a lighter X carriage, faster print and travel speeds, reduced retraction distances, increased retract speeds to name but a few. The extruder motor is mounted remotely from the extruder itself and attached to the frame or X ends of a printer allowing the extruder to move faster with less vibrations. Flex3DriveTM is also fully compatible with Delta type machines.

Other features include compatibility with all groove-mount hot ends (JHead, E3D, Arcol, Hexagon etc...) and filament types ( Nylon, Ninjafllex, Taulman, Laywoo, Laybrick, PLA, ABS and more) in 1.75 or 3mm form without modification or change.
Flex3DriveTM is lightweight with a low height profile for increased Z axis clearance. Distance between hobbed pulley and hot end is less than 10mm helping to reduce ringing and other print artifacts.
Print speeds in excess of 400mms are achievable whilst producing great quality prints at these speeds.