Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Help! Ugly Prints!

Posted by matador 
Help! Ugly Prints!
January 05, 2014 03:35PM
Im new to the world of 3D printing. I built a Makerfarm Prusa i3 a few weeks ago. I have been starting with PLA and had the printer dialed in perfectly. My prints were beautiful. I figured since it was making great PLA prints I should swap out for some ABS and print out some extra extruder parts for backups. Im having some weird results with ABS. Its printing pretty messy.

Does anyone know why this looks the way it does? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance! smiling smiley

Here's what my setup is: Im printing on a J-head .5 nozzle @ 230 degrees. Bed temp at 100 degrees. .3 layer height. I have a glass bed and use hairspray to adhere the print.
Re: Help! Ugly Prints!
January 05, 2014 05:19PM
Is the ABS sticking to the bed?

The only thing that worked for me was ABS juice, i.e leave some bits of ABS soaking in acetone for 24 hours i.e until the acetone goes a slightly cloudy colour.

Then wipe it onto the glass using a bit of kitchen paper.

Just wipe it once, don't be tempted to rub it in or wipe over an area you just did, as an ultra thin coating seems to work just was well as anything.
January 05, 2014 06:21PM
The ABS sticks great with hairspray. Never had a problem with that. Also its super easy to clean up the glass afterward with soap and water. Sometimes I use Methyl Chloride to clean the PLA off of the glass.

My only problem seems to be the first 6 or so layers of a print look real nasty. Only happens with ABS. And my bed is level. I use a piece of paper to measure the distance from the nozzle to the glass when leveling. Maybe thats to close or to far for ABS.... confused smiley
January 05, 2014 09:28PM
I'm completely new to this as well but I used a piece of paper for the same reason and didn't have any problem printing ABS. Maybe something to do with the heated bed or hot end temperature?