Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Hardware store hot end

Posted by nicklogan 
Hardware store hot end
December 30, 2013 05:04PM
I'm new to 3D printing and am in the process of building a delta robot (Rostock) style printer modeled after the one Jonathan Keep made (http://www.keep-art.co.uk/Self_build.html) but with FDM capability instead of or in addition to the clay extrusion technique he uses. While I'm gathering parts and materials I decided to have a go at assembling a hot end from freely available hardware. The attached photo shows a first attempt fabricated from lamp parts and aluminum and teflon washers (the threaded shafts shown are hollow). Still to do are to grind the cap nut to a cone and drill a nozzle hole, drill and tap the top cap for a push connector for a Bowden extruder tube, and drill vent holes in the 2 brass couplers. Also to be added are an aluminum block heater just above the cap nut at the bottom and a shroud for the cooling fan. Cost for the parts used so far not including the push connector and fan is about $12.
Before I get farther with this I just wanted to get feedback from people more experienced or who have made their own hot end to see what drawbacks or pitfalls they can forsee. I am also thinking about adding an internal brass tube for the filament feed.

Thanks in advance.
Attachments:
open | download - HardwareHotEnd1600.jpg (482 KB)
Re: Hardware store hot end
December 30, 2013 07:14PM
What do you have in side the lamp tube hardware? The hole in them would be much too large to work. Needs to be no bigger then 3.4 mm for 3mm filamet and 2mm for 1.75. Unless you found some with that small of hole.
December 30, 2013 07:17PM
Great initiative! However, I would put the mounting plate further away from the nozzle.

Maybe there are easily-available heater blocks, I can imagine that finding a good heater block may be the most difficult part of your design.