Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Cost of the Rep Rap machine

Hello,

I'm a student from Rotterdam University(Hogeschool Rotterdan). We want to build a Reprap for a project. We must give an estimate of the cost involved before we can start building. Can anyone provide this information?

Thanks,
Mathijs
Re: Cost of the Rep Rap machine
October 13, 2009 04:18AM
This depends on how you plan to build one. Does your university have a 3d printer on which you can print all RP parts for free? That would take out most of the problems and costs. Whats left is 300-400€ in hardware and electronics as far as I understand.
You could look at the makerbot shop, there you can buy most of the electronics and an extruder.
October 13, 2009 09:02AM
hi guys, i found a system that costs £750 complete... and that is for everything! check it out on www.bitsfrombytes.co.uk i got one around a week and a half ago now and im currently building it in my spare time. its sooo easy!
russ
October 18, 2009 03:35PM
Hi Mendel has recently been costed at £398, probably much cheaper if you shop around for parts. Unfortunately this includes only £20 for the replicated parts. This is about the cost of the ABS plastic to make them.

The sub-£400 price tag is very attractive but the number of new machines will be limited by the number of machines available to create the kits of replicated parts. :-(

If someone creates a lasercut version, as was done with the Darwin, this would be a significant help.

The problem may be reduced by finding replacements for some of the replicated parts.

It may be possible to get some components injection moulded. Perhaps by getting a few keen souls to pay in advance to secure the finance. Perhaps a simple component, multiple copies of which are needed in the Mendel.

We might create alternate instructions to replace some of the less critical parts with hand made parts. A kind of hybrid repstrap using fewer replicated parts.