Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

diy printer

Posted by papakel 
diy printer
December 18, 2013 03:53PM
Hi all, I am a complete newby and being retired I built a CNC router which I have built and mastered and so I progressed to building a 3D printer from scraps from my collection I used pictures of the everbot as a design and I built the sanguinololu board with the atmeg processor and I am using Pronterface to control it. I am of the opinion that I have configured the drivers correctly to the motors , The X axis is belt drive and the Y and Z are screw drive 8mm metric 1.25mm per rev. I can move all axis back and forth with pronterface without losing steps but when I load a program I am missing steps on the Y axis, I have come to the conclusion that my problem could be with the excellaration and or the jerk settings in the configuration.h file though I have spent days varying both and cannot find the soloution. Can anyone help please
Re: diy printer
December 19, 2013 12:49AM
Most repraps don't use lead screws for Y.

You will probably need to re-compile your firmware and change the max speed and acceleration for the Y axis.

Or set slicer to that all speeds are very very slow.

I think that your printer may be unusably slow using a lead screw for the Y axis. Can you replace it with belt and pulleys on Y ??
December 19, 2013 01:05AM
This is correct x/y lead screws will not allow for acceleration ramps with current firmware on repraps. For example if you try the same with a dated parallel port cnc controller and mach3, you would no longer loose steps. It has to do with the even timing of the steps with mach3, and the uneven step pulses of the reprap controllers. It is smoothed out by the belts system that can absorb and smooth out the steps.

Also it could be that the step pin may be an inverted input if your speeds are not that fast.

read up on Bresenham's line method which is what is used for reprap interpolated moves.

link is here: [en.wikipedia.org]