Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

On the subject of divergence

Posted by vonBarky 
On the subject of divergence
June 17, 2007 04:52AM
I've been following some discussions on the Developer's board here with some interest, and since (for me at least) it's a read-only forum I thought I would post some thoughts of mine on divergence of the hardware and software.

First a bit about my perspective: I'm a software architect/developer, technical consultant and mentor. I've been developing software commercially for 18 years now, and for another 6 years non-commercially. My background includes a few electronics courses, but as those were quite a long time ago and I didn't use it, I've forgotten most of it.

I think when you are developing a new project, whether it be software or hardware, there are several stages that a project goes through - Concept/Design, Experimental, Refinement and polishing, and then finally delivery. Skills and approaches that are key for one stage in the process may be, in fact, a hinderance at other stages. For example, the big-picture, pie-in-the-sky viewpiont needed for the concept/design stage would actually be detrimental at the polishing stage, for to polish a product/project you need a great attention to detail.

From my perspective, here is a greatly simplified version of what skills and approaches are needed at each stage:

Concept: Big-picture, over all long term design, project plan, goal trajectory. This is where you prepare for not just version 1.0, but for the roadmap for the future.