Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Newbie's 1.75mm hotend/extruder design

Posted by LoboCNC 
Newbie's 1.75mm hotend/extruder design
April 29, 2013 10:16PM
I'm working with a group of high school students on a 3D printer design as an engineering exercise, the only problem being that I have no experience with 3D printing. (I'm and engineer that's done lots of machine design, though.) The hotend/extruder seems like the trickiest part, and I wanted to get a handle on that first. We're on a budget so I wanted to see if we could make the extruder (we have a CNC mill, and a crappy lathe) rather than buying one. After a couple of prototypes, I seem to have stumbled across a design which seems to work and is pretty easy to make:

The hotend is just an aluminum heater block/nozzle (0.4mm orifice) with a PTFE liner going most of the way thru:

The heater block is not supported at all by the PTFE - it is held in place by the two outboard screws. The key to the design is the way the PTFE liner is supported. Just above the heater block there is a torlon (could be PEEK) collar slipped over the liner to make sure is doesn't expand, as the melt zone can creep a little above the heater block. Above the torlon collar is a 8-32 nut, which conveniently, is almost the perfect size for threading onto the 4mm dia liner tube. This nut keeps the liner from creeping upward during operation. During assembly the two outboard screws are tightened just enough to keep the liner snug, but then locknuts are used at the top and bottom of each screw hold the heater block at a fixed distance.