Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Makerbot patenting network 3D printing

Posted by sam80 
Makerbot patenting network 3D printing
April 22, 2013 02:27PM
Maybe it has been discussed before, but has anyone looked at some new patents of makerbot guys?

[www.google.com]

[www.google.com]

[www.google.com]

I'm not a expert on these things but did bre pettis "INVENTED" this?? 3D printing through webserver/network/social media

doesn't the Cube 3D printer have a wifi wireless option to send files to it ? and don't you have to invent it before you can patent these things? I mean I have a great ideas but I can't patent a Idea right... anyone want to shed some light on the subject?
Re: Makerbot patenting network 3D printing
April 22, 2013 03:14PM
You don't have to build or even intend to build anything to apply for a patent.
You just have to be first, and it has to be not an obvious extension of existing things.

I'd say a large portion of that patent is obvious, but once granted getting a patent overturned for being obvious is almost impossible.
Assuming your judged to infringe, you're pretty much reduced to prior art and because of the cost of patent cases they are rarely worth actually fighting, even if you are sure it's invalid.

My blog [3dprinterhell.blogspot.com]
April 22, 2013 03:18PM
Right but how did they get a patent while Cubify printer already makes use of 3D printing through network? and wouldn't 3D systems be the first to overrule such patent?
April 22, 2013 03:45PM
So do we boycott Makerbot for putting these in?
April 22, 2013 03:53PM
I thought makerbot was already boycotted spinning smiley sticking its tongue out
April 22, 2013 04:05PM
We fought off a company which claimed to have a patent on a product we produced for a customer. They sued our customer and us for patent infringement. Turned out the *sshole didnt even have a patent but it cost us $20k to defend ourselves in court and have it thrown out. He was bluffing to the very end.