Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Help with Printing with Laywood

Posted by fredlatesta 
Help with Printing with Laywood
January 24, 2013 12:02PM
Hi, I'm looking for some advice.

I've been printing exclusively with ABS for a few years and I am happy with my prints.

Prusa
0.35mm J head
Marlin-Slic3r-Pronterface

I just received my order of Laywood, and I can not seem to print with it. The material extrudes into free air, and I can print one layer before the print fails. It seems like the nozzle clogs. I can not find much on line, but I was wondering if my J head is too small for Laywood at 0.35mm ?

Any advice is appreciated.

Regards
Re: Help with Printing with Laywood
January 24, 2013 12:18PM
I've talked to a few other people using Laywood, and they have pretty much all said that 0.35 mm is just a little too small, though they could stave off clogs for a while if they turned the temp up to 220 or so. I think they've all switched over to 0.5 nozzles when they're printing with it.
January 24, 2013 04:51PM
^^^ Agreed!
I used a 0.4mm J-Head - fine and dandy for a while but eventually I got some clogging and the print had to stop. Currently waiting for delivery of a 0.5mm nozzle to see if this is any better - I suspect/hope that it will be.
Alan
January 25, 2013 07:25AM
Thank you all for the confirmation, I will try to set up another printer with a 0.5mm and see how it works.

Regards
January 25, 2013 10:55AM
I've given my first batch of Laywood a go through my Budaschnozzle 1.1 w/ .5mm nozzle and have had "relatively" good success. There are a few things I have noticed which can complicate printing:

1. Filament diameter (in my batch) is a little larger than 3mm. I think this has to do with the rough nature of the filament. I had to bore out my PTFE sleeve inside the printhead to accept the filament.
2. The wood fibers have a tendency to insulate the PLA. This means that if you were printing at 185-190C you should try 205-210C.