Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Extruder seems to stop outputting randomly

Posted by Zeoic 
Extruder seems to stop outputting randomly
April 17, 2017 06:04PM
Hello everyone, I am brand new to the world of 3D printing. I have not long ago put together my first one which I ordered from eBay. I have not been able to get through a whole print since I got it. Randomly during a print the extruder looks like it just gives up, this could happen right at the beginning, usually happens by the 7th or 8th mm layer. I can tell when its about to happen as the motor starts clicking, then a few seconds later no more comes out. I found that I can push the filament through a bit to get it back to working for about half a minute. I have tried just telling it to extrude and that seems to work fine. I have seen a solution on the forum, people saying to increase the tension or something but I am not sure how to do that, I have searched google to no avail. Maybe I'm looking for it wrong? Any help would be appreciated!

I have an unlisted YouTube video showing how it just gives up, the point it stops is at the 3:30 mark.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cyvt5u0UvUA
Re: Extruder seems to stop outputting randomly
April 17, 2017 08:37PM
Have you calibrate the extruder steps per mm?
Also have you calibrated the extruder motor driver current?
Direct drive extruders like that seem to skip steps a lot. It will sound like clicking.
April 17, 2017 10:21PM
I just tried calibrating the Esteps, but any change I made just yielded random results. One little change and it would go from 38mm (100 expected) to 72mm. I tried putting it a little higher and it went down to 20mm. I have watched various videos on people doing to exact same thing as me yet it just doesn't seem to work. As for the motor current, I have no idea how to adjust it. I looked at the wiki and the identification section for "Melzi" looked completely different from what I have.
April 18, 2017 08:30AM