Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Longboat Prusa - please help me with what i need to dospinning smiley sticking its tongue out

Posted by simonhoughton 
Longboat Prusa - please help me with what i need to dospinning smiley sticking its tongue out
February 11, 2012 05:32PM
Hi

I have bought a Longboat Prusa from www.thereprapkitstore.com. I have one from batch 1.

Because of the instructions being incomplete and the fact i am new to 3d printers, i am stuck with what to do! can anyone tell me how to:
- wire the heat bed to the power supply
- attach the electronics
- and get the right software

thanks
simon
Re: Longboat Prusa - please help me with what i need to dospinning smiley sticking its tongue out
February 12, 2012 02:27PM
Hi Simon,

I also just got one of the Longboat Prusa kits, and have been busily assembling it this weekend.
And it's now at the stage where it moves under its own power! smiling bouncing smiley

I agree that the instructions are a bit vague regarding the electronics, but I found that most of what you need to know is covered elsewhere.

If you have a read of the Sanguinololu page, particularly the Wiring Diagram, it all becomes much clearer.

I did wire up the MOSFET on the heated bed as shown in the instructions, and tested it by connecting it to the 12V power supply and manully toggling it on/off.
But after that I changed my mind, and think I'll try the direct connection as shown in the diagram above, to avoid having to modify the Sanguino board.
(Is there a downside to all the power going through the Sanguino???)

It comes with the Sprinter firmware, to allow you to check it is working.
But you'll need to be able to build it with your own 'Configuration.h' to tune it to your machine. I didn't have much luck getting this to work on my Windows machine, but on Linux it works just as described in the README file.