Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

3D printers in the developing world

Posted by agoodstns 
3D printers in the developing world
March 03, 2011 08:18PM
I am a global MBA student at the College of Charleston, and I have spent the last few months working on a study to target innovations that can be utilized to improve the quality of life in developing countries. It seems to me that open source 3D printers have a huge potential to produce essential products at a low cost. From what I can see, one could make anything from salt shakers, to chairs, to toilets, to actual shelters. It would really help me out if you all could give me some personal insight on the matter, especially with understanding the limitations of the 3D printers and the cost associated with printing. It would also really help with your thoughts on other things that 3D printers could provide to developing countries.
Re: 3D printers in the developing world
March 03, 2011 09:18PM
I think the thing to me that makes a 3D printer useful to developing countries is the reduction in need for transporting lots of unique items.

As long as you can get the plastic filament (ie: in bulk), you no longer need to ship lots of individual items from around the world, which saves on shipping costs (which seem to become a larger and large part of the cost of commodity items, especially as fuel prices rise), and their associated wastes (ie: pollution).

And while you most likely need the plastic shipped to you to make things, you should be able to order an appropriate amount to maximise the weight/shipping cost. If you plan far enough ahead, you can use slower, lower cost and less wasteful methods of shipping (ie: surface/sea shipping).
March 03, 2011 09:23PM
I like this topic. You should see the video promoting the fablab, talking about what happened when they set one up in a developing country, I think it's on TED.