Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Cheap Laboratory Liquid Handling

Posted by Clayton Coffman 
I am a graduate student at the University of Missouri. Today me and two others spend several hours transferring small amounts of liquid from a hundred small containers into another hundred small containers. I thought "This sucks, I have better things to do with my time!" Then I thought of RepRap.

RepRap is basically a small liquid-handling system. Several companies sell flexible liquid-handling robots designed to transfer liquids from one small container to another. Basically they are robots which use micropipettes with disposable tips to withdraw liquid from one place and deposit it into another. These robots cost thousands of dollars, most or all are over $10,000 and are quite large and for fairly specific applications and use non-standard consumables (tips, reagent containers, etc.).

Has anyone thought of using RepRap as a platform to do exactly this, only being much cheaper? From how I see it (and I am not an engineer) you would simply replace the syringe with a micropipette and add a servo to eject the tip into a waste bin between samples. You can buy electronic pipettes which could theoretically be hacked into the system to allow for programmable adjustment of the volume to be withdrawn/dispensed (~$500). This would be an incredible project for some undergraduate engineering students and would allow for exciting collaboration between chemistry/life science researchers. I work in a lab, and I can think of dozens of labs (and I am sure there are thousands) which would buy a system like this if it were under $1000, reliable, and easy to use. See [www.youtube.com] (about 1:00 in) for an example of what I am talking about, though this machine is far more capable (and expensive!) than what we need (the chores I have in mind would be comparatively small, but would still save valuable man-hours and frayed nerves).