Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Extruder setup woes

Posted by bassman 
Extruder setup woes
November 24, 2011 08:03AM
Hi, I have a problem with setting the extruder speed and, while I have followed the 'looking for help with calibrating E' thread, I haven't managed to cure the problem. I'm running Marlin via Pronterface from the 'Kliment-Printrun-edeb433' download and the latest download of Skeinforge but, when I try to set flowrate down from its default 210 to 30 which I have as feedrate, it won't allow me to set it below 50.
I am very new to 3d printing and completely confused by all the possible permutations in the software - even the 'simple' SFACT. I tried to find the settings file which JeffWilson posted so I could attach it to this message but all that appeared to be in that directory was a file called 'temperatures.csv' and, searching my computer, I only seem to be able to find .csv files created during runs of RepG .
My machine is a Prusa Mendel with Wades extruder and the hot end has a 0.4mm nozzle. The symptoms of my problem is that, as in JeffWilson's case, the extruder is running way too fast and skidding on the PLA filament. During one of the last print attempts I did change the value in the Pronterface Extruder speed box from the default of 300 to about 12 and, after a while, presumably when the arduino buffer refreshed, the extruder speed did drop but, if I'm going to have to juggle settings in both Skeinforge and Pronterface, that is getting even more confusing. I will say that I am not a complete novice at this type of thing as I have hung around the EMC2 community since it was first developed and have a couple of home built milling machines running successfully on that platform but this whole 3d printing game seems far more complicated.